Sea Shells: Translating Wooden Sculptures into Digital Files and Printed Objects

IMG_0284

This project started one day by me noticing my nice collection of wooden sea shells. They were all sculpted out of cedar over the years by my father. There are a limited number of them around, and I thought it would be nice to preserve them forever by scanning them into my computer. The forms actually translated wayyyy better than I thought they would into the digital world.  I am excited to see what else I can use these files for, and what other materials I can further adapt my father’s art into.

Now that I have the files from the scans, I can make smaller versions, add attachment points, design molds, etc. I think it is really neat to be able to use technology to create new abundance and diversity out of a small sampling of artwork.

IMG_0285

IMG_0288

IMG_0289

IMG_0290

These photos of all of a blue ABS 3d print of a larger one of his conch shells.

IMG_0189 (1)

This photo shows the same shell in a smaller, concrete form. I printed the original CAD model at 10% scale, and made a simple silicone mold, and then cast it in cement. In the center of this photo there is another one of his shells that was reproduced (in miniature) by the same process.

One thought on “Sea Shells: Translating Wooden Sculptures into Digital Files and Printed Objects

Leave a Reply

