Bait Fish & Big Fish Drawings

I have recently been drawing fish for a new design project. These are hand drawn in sharpie and then scanned in in black and white mode and converted to vector outlines in Illustrator.  I then open the vectors in the CAD program Solidworks and create models by extruding the shapes. In this way I can use my own drawings to create and 3D print models that will later be molded into other materials (in this case concrete). My process is a combination of both old school and new school techniques but I enjoy the process of seeing my drawings transition between materials and dimensions.

danielsketchfish3

 

 

baitfish3

 

Big fish (marlin, wahoo, & dolphin) and bait fish (flying fish, pilchard, & cigar minnow).

Leave a Reply

